RAD is not so rad.

Parenting a child with rad is the most exhausting painful thing ive ever endured in my life. I wish their were more resources for parents like us. But for now we are trying to stay afloat one tantrum at a time.

2 responses to “RAD is not so rad.

  1. I do not have the experience of living with and raising a child with RAD. I’d like to say that I do feel empathy, however, at the lack of resources for parents of children with certain types of issues. I also want to say that through reading some of your posts, I see that you sometimes have that little whisper of doubt that maybe there’s something more you can do or maybe you’re sharing too much online. I don’t think that’s the case. I think blogging is therapeutic and you can reach more people out there who have similar experiences.

    Living in Hawaii, I felt so isolated and left to my own devices. We had issues with our son for the first year, due to misdiagnoses or lack of diagnosis of an issue altogether. It seems that everyone will give you advice and little to none of it is useful.

    I’m sure you’re already encountering some people that tell you to wait it out, they’re adopted and she’s just getting used to you, etc… Ridiculous. You know, as Mama, when something’s not quite right.

    Stay strong, lean on your friends and if they don’t understand, help them understand. Perhaps you could talk to Hawaii International Child (on Waialae Ave) to see if they recommend anything or if they have support groups.

    Good luck.

    • Thanks Amanda. It really is miserable on this rock with no help. Hubby is deploying soonish and we submitted paperwork to get sent elsewhere but that’s not likely going to happen.

Leave a Reply

